Artists to Watch: RHODES

I first heard of RHODES when one of my friends sent me a YouTube video of him performing for the Mahogany Sessions. If you don’t know what that is, it’s a YouTube channel where they have little-known musicians (usually singer-songwriter/indie style) come on and perform one or two of their songs acoustically (Hozier did a couple of his songs on there shortly before his career skyrocketed). Anyway, I watched the video, and was completely hooked. So much, in fact, that I listened to the song at least once a day for a good week or two. The song was soulful, folky, and downright beautiful, which are what many of his songs are like.

Recently, RHODES released one of the songs off his upcoming debut album, and if it’s any indication of how good the whole album will be, then expect something incredible to come out this year from him. Check out the song below, and listen to some of the other songs on his Soundcloud! You won’t regret it.

-N

Leave a comment